The three principal churches are known as the churches with columns: KARANLIK KİLİSE, ELMALI KİLİSE, ÇARIKLI KİLİSE, which are also distinguished from all the others by their Byzantine pattern of planning, the cross-shaped layout. The walls   of  these   churches   are   richly   decorated  with   frescos, painted during the great upsurge of Byzantine religious arts in the 11 th century.

This post has no comments. Be the first to leave one!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>